European Law


HideShow resource information
  • Created by: charlotte
  • Created on: 10-01-11 23:06
Preview of European Law

First 302 words of the document:

European Union.
Formed by Treaty of Rome in 19 57.
There are 27 members, one from each member state.
The Commission.
There are 27 commissioners.
All commissioners are "independent beyond doubt".
Each commissioner has an area of responsibility.
Initiate new laws by proposing law that will benefit the EU.
Guard treaties & enforcing law - breach of EU law cases are settled in the European Court of
Send draft proposal to Court of Ministers.
European Parliament.
There are 732 members - Countries have proportional representation.
They are elected every 5 years.
Involved in legislation.
Cooperates & co-decides.
MP's may join political parties within the European Parliament or remain independent.
Has the power to hold Commission & Council of Ministers accountable.
Produce a report every 3 years on Council of Ministers.
May dismiss the Commission.
Council of Ministers.
There are 27 ministers, one from each member state. May be any member of the Governments
Ministers but is usually the Foreign Secretary.
They are at the centre of power.
Decides which proposals should become law.
Minister involved changes according to issue.
'Initiate of new laws'.
Propose new laws.
Consider what's benefitting to the EU.
Draft proposals to Council of Ministers for approval.
Council of Ministers;
Vote on proposals.
Some laws need a unanimous or simple majority vote.
Qualified majority vote; votes have proportional representation in relation to the country's
population, ensuring a decision made when it's difficult to agree. This proposes the question of
fairness, with larger countries ultimately deciding. However the process would be extremely long &
difficult otherwise.
European Parliament;

Other pages in this set

Page 2

Preview of page 2

Here's a taster:

Consultation; giving their opinion on draft proposals, to help the Council of Ministers to decide
whether to approve or not. They don't have to follow this.
Cooperation; if laws affect internal markets they are consulted. If approved by the Council of
Ministers vote unanimously then they can suggest amendments.
Co-decision; if law affects international agreements then they can veto proposals if Council of
Ministers refuses to accept the amendments.
Also known as primary European legislation.
Treaties are the highest form of European law.…read more


No comments have yet been made

Similar Law resources:

See all Law resources »See all resources »