C3: What is the UK

HideShow resource information

C3: What is the UK?

  • UK
    • Made up of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland
    • Official name: The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
      • Great BritainEngland, Scotlandand Wales
  • Islands closely linked to the UK but not part of it
    • Channel Islands
    • Isle of Man
    • Both have their own government called Crown Dependencies
  • British Overseas Territories
    • St Helena
    • The Falkland Islands
  • UK - governed by the Parliament sitting in Westminster.
  • Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland also have their own parliaments / assemblies with devolved powers in defined areas
1 of 1


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all Life in the UK Test resources »