Henry VII domestic policy; justice

View mindmap
  • Henry VII domestic policy, justice and maintenence of order
    • Types of courts and their jurisdiction
      • church courts
        • church administration
        • offences committed by clergy
        • proving of wills
        • issues relating to marriage
        • 'moral' offences
      • local courts
        • manor courts
          • landholding
          • rights and responsibilities of landlords and tenants
          • use of common land
          • responsibilities for drainage and land issues
        • borough courts
          • medieval trading standards
          • specific judicial rights granted by royal charter
      • king's courts at county level
        • assizes- held twice a year to deal with major criminal and civil cases. presided over by Westminster judges
        • quarter sessions, held four times a year, presided over by JP'S. less imoortant criminal and civil cases.
        • special commissions: dealt with major issues such as rebellions.
      • king's common law courts
        • King's bench- had superior criminal jurisdiction
        • Common pleas, dealt with major civil cases
        • Exchequer dealt with issues relating to royal revenues
      • chancery and other equity courts
        • exercised jurisdiction on basis of fairness, rather than a strict reading of common law.
    • Justices of the Peace (JP's)
      • local level, unpaid position, most did it out of a sense of duty
      • appointed on a county-by-county basis.
      • met 4 times a year to administer justice at quarter sessions.
      • most were members of the gentry
      • responsible for routine administration such as: tax assessments, alehouse regulation, investigation of complaints against local officials, maintenece of law and order.
      • superseded traditional authority of the county sheriff.


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all The Tudors: England 1485-1603 resources »