Health And Social Care - Meeting Individual Needs Unit 7

HideShow resource information

7.1 The Structure and Provision Of Sevices


Health Care: medical care
Social Care: non-medical care, main users i.e. children and families, older people etc

4 Sectors:

  • Statutory -> funded by governement and NI and income tax
                   -> legal right to recieve
                   -> free to those eligible
  • Private    -> make profit
                   -> available to those who pay               
                                                                        ]  ------->  INDEPENDENT SECTOR
  • Voluntary -> non-profit making
                    -> use voluntary and paid staff
                    -> free/ low cost to client
  • Informal   -> care via friends/family
                   -> non-professional

Structure of Sevices

1) Primary        -> first point of contact i.e. G.P.

2) Secondary  -> ususally in hospital, consultant based, referral needed i.e  mental health team

 3) Tertiary       -> community/insitiutional settings for those with critical/chronic illnesses i.e. hospices

Structure of Social Services

Local Authority (Cheif Executive)
Social Services Department
- Special Needs (Adults)
- Elderly People (Adults)
- Children and Families
- Education

Care Value Base Review
- confidentiality
- effective communication
- advocacy
- empowerment
- redress
- anti-discriminatory practice
- fostering equality and diversity

Single Equality Act (2010)

- Merged existing legislation
- Attempted to simplify and strengthen them
- Illegal to discriminate on grounds of: age, sex, religion etc.

Children's Act (1989/2004)

- Child's needs come first, all sectors work together
- 2003 = every child matters
- 2004 = prevention over intervention

Human Rights Act (1998)

- Protects basic human rights i.e. right to life/ marry/ have children etc.

Mental Health Act (1983)

- allows sectioning on grounds of mental illness

NHS and Community Care Act (1990)

- introduce 'internal market'; competition between service providers
- all sectors work together


  •  establishes minimum standard required
  • establishes what clients are entitled to
  • empowers clients and holds care givers accountable

Family Allowance Act (1945) - financial aid for all children except the first
NI Act (1946) - paid into national scheme, covers loss of earnings
NHS Act (1948) - free health service for UK residents
National Assistance Act (1948) - Local Authorities to provide care for residents

7.2 Care Planning For Individual Needs

Normalisation- offering services which support people and respect their choices and empowers them

Wolfensberger (1974)

* helps disabled people to use ordinary services with the use of assistive technology.

The Jay Committee (1979):

  • use normal services
  • strengthen existing support networks with professional ones
  • specialised services to meet needs unabe to be met by ordinary services
  • advocacy provided

- promotes independence
- allows people to live in own homes
- prevents institutionalisation

- expensive
- requires trained staff to implement
- risk assessment

Care Planning- NHS and Community Care Act (1990…


Laetitia Lewis


Useful content, lots of spelling errors

Sarah-Jane Auty


Very useful :) included things i wasnt tought, fab :)



Thank youuu, this was very uselful :D



Much obliged to the writers this helping me much ..

Similar Health & Social Care resources:

See all Health & Social Care resources »See all Social issues and welfare needs resources »