Unit 1: Human Lifespan Development

  • Created by: ananyaaax
  • Created on: 19-12-15 10:30

Life Stages

Infancy : 0-3 years

Early Childhood : 4-8 years

Adolesence : 9-18 years

Early Adulthood : 19-45 years

Middle Adulthood : 46-64 years

Later Adulthood : 65+ years

1 of 4

Growth & Development

What is the term 'Growth'?

Growth is the increase in height and weight. Growth is continued until EARLY ADULTHOOD.

What is the term 'Development'?

Development involves aquiring new skills and capabilities.

Development has 4 key aspects:

  • Physical development
  • Emotional development
  • Intellectual development
  • Social development
2 of 4

Gross Motor Skills

Gross Motor Skills is the control of large muscles in the body to enable infants to crawl, walk and run.

Activities that promote gross motor skills includes:

  • Hopscotch 
  • Digging
  • Playing catch

Developments of gross motor skills

Infants develop their gross motor skills from heads down. They gradually contro muscles in their neck and then their back so that thy can roll, sit and crawl. The muscles in their legs and feet develop so they can stand then they can walk. In early childhood, the large muscles continues to develop to help coordination and balance.

3 of 4

Fine Motor Skills

Fine Motor Skills is the development of movement of the small muscles of the fingers and hands. 

Manipulation - Babies use their whole hand to manipulate objects. By 12 months, they are starting to use the small small muscles in their fingers. Building with blocks, playing with toy farm animals and playing musical instruments. 

Gripping - Babies can grasp an adult's finger. By 3 months, they can grasp a rattle for a short time. Playing with a rattle, holding a small toy and feeding a self with spoon.

Hand-eye coordination - This means the child is able to use the muscles in her fingers to pick up the construction piece and use her eyes to guide her finger movements. Playing with jigsaw puzzles, writing and sewing.

4 of 4





Similar Health & Social Care resources:

See all Health & Social Care resources »See all Life Stages resources »