pillars of Islam

five pillars of Islam

  • Created by: Emma
  • Created on: 18-12-08 16:51

The 5 pillars of Islam

1. Shahadah - declaration of Faith

2. Salah - prayer (5 times a day)

3. Zakah - Welfare Payment (2 %of wages)

4. Saum - Fasting (1 month a year)

5. Hajj - they have to visit makkah once in every lifetime

1 of 3


The meaning of Shahadah is for muslims to declare that they believe in Allah and that he is the only God. They also declare that they realise muhammad was the messenger of Allah and is therefore a Prophet.

The Shahadah should be the first and last thing a Muslim hears as it shows that their faith is lifelong.

2 of 3

Salah washing before Prayer

Muslims have to wash three times there.....................................

3 of 3


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »