Diagnostic statistical manual (DSM)

brief overview of the DSM.

  • Created by: Shannon
  • Created on: 26-03-13 16:05

What is the DSM?

  • The DSM is used to classify mental disorders so that they can be diagnosed.
  • There have been five revisions of the DSM since it was initially published in 1952. Each time mental disorders are added or taken away.
  • The DSM uses a multi-axial system meaning that people are assessed based on multiple criteria.
  • The five axis model is designed to provide a comprehensive diagnosis that includes a complete picture of not just acute symptoms but of the entire scope of factors that account for a patient's mental health.
1 of 6

Axis 1

Axis 1: Clinical disorders.

            Examples - anxiety disorders, schizophrenia, eating disorders.

2 of 6

Axis 2

Axis 2: Personality/developmental disorders.

            Examples - borderline personality disorder, paranoid personality disorder.

3 of 6

Axis 3

Axis 3: Relevant physical disorders.

            Examples - diabetes, asthma.

4 of 6

Axis 4

Axis 4: Psychosocial and environmental problems.

            Examples - educational problems, occupational problems.

5 of 6

Axis 5

Axis 4: Global assessment of functioning.

            Rating between 1 and 100.

6 of 6


No comments have yet been made

Similar Psychology resources:

See all Psychology resources »