Treaty of Versaillies weakened Germany

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Lollipop
  • Created on: 30-05-12 17:12

On 28 June 1919, the Treaty of Versailles was signed with Germany.   The Germans had not been allowed to send any delegates, and had to accept whatever was decided.   The Treaty had five main points:

By Clause 231, Germany had to accept the blame for starting the war.

Germany’s military power was reduced.   Germany was not allowed to have submarines or an air force.   It could have an army of only 100,000 men and a navy of only 6 ships, and it was not allowed to place any troops in the Rhineland.

Germany had to pay £6,600 million ‘reparations’ for damage done.

Germany lost land.   The Saar coalfield was given to France for 15 years, and Alsace-Lorraine given back to France.   Danzig became a free city, and Poland was given a ‘corridor’ to the Baltic Sea.   Germany was not allowed to unite with Austria.   Finally, Germany’s colonies were given to France or Britain.

Germany was not allowed to


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all The interwar years in Europe resources »