Structure of the plot


The plot has four main focuses throughout the journey. These are: Telemachus’ journey, Odysseus’ return from Ogygia, the telling of his travels to the Phaeacians and his homecoming and regaining of his kingdom.

Telemachus’ journey = books 1-4

Odysseus’ return from Ogygia = 5-8

Travel tales to the Phaeacians = 9-12

Homecoming = 13-24

-        This shows that the fact that Homer has put so much effort and description into Odysseus’ final homecoming highlights that the end goal of the Odyssey is to


No comments have yet been made