Cell, Skin and Specialized Tissue - Skin Structure

HideShow resource information

Skin is composed of two main layers. The thin outer layer, or epidermis, is a type of tissue known as stratified squamous epithelium, which consists of sheets of plate-like cells. Beneath this lies a deeper layer, the dermis, which comprises fibrous and elastic tissue containing blood vessels, nerve fibres, hair follicles, and sweat glands. The deepest layer of the dermis anchors the skin


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »