Age Studies

  • Created by: Joshsl
  • Created on: 30-05-18 17:23

Bradley: Identified 5 different major generational stages of age identity in the UK:

  • Childhood
  • Adolescence
  • Young Adulthood
  • Middle Age
  • Old Age

Many sociologists believe that these 5 chronological aspects of our lives are socially constructed, based upon our surroundings and our interactions.


Childhood in the UK is regarded as a period of economic and emotional vulnerability. In this state, they are guarded by the family and the government institutions.

In other cultures, childhood is not viewed in the same way, as many children may have to work long hours in dangerous occupations.

Postman: argues that childhood in the UK has started to diminish since the onset of the 20th century. This is because influences such as TV and digital media have led to children having a greater understanding of previously parental issues.


This period is the time that spans the onset of puberty and the acquiring of adult status (THe Teenage Years). 

In many pre-industrial societies, youth is not recognised, and many boys and girls go through periods of socialisation which sets them up for their future life from age 12/13. E.g. Girls are set up for their future marriage and Boys are set up for their roles…


No comments have yet been made