Zoological Collections - Taxonomy



  • Archaea
    • prokaryotic cells
    • reproduce asexually
    • often found in abnormal conditions
    • live without oxygenmethanobacterium
    • in the three-domain system, one of the domains, comprising organisms formerly known as archaebacteria and placed in a kingdom of that name
  • Bacteria
    • prokaryotic cells
    • reproduce sexually or asexually
    • cause disease = cyanobacteria
  • Eukarya
    • eukaryotic cells
    • the domain comprising all eukaryotes. These forms the kingdomsPlantaeAnimalia, Fungi and Protoctista
1 of 9


  • Protista (algae, slime moulds, protozoa)
  • Fungi (mushrooms, ringworm, yeast, moulds)
  • Plantae (trees, flowers, grasses)
  • Animalia (animals)
    • multicellular organisms that develop from embryos
2 of 9


  • Porifera (sponges [mostly marine])
    • phylum of aquatic Animaliamost of which are marine. They lack definite tissues and organs, but have a filter-feeding system composed of flagellate cells, pores and canals.
  • Cnidaria (jellyfish and anemones)
    • phylum that comprises the sea anemones, jellyfish and corals, and which is known from the late Precambrian.
  • Platyhelminths (flatworms)
    • phylum of acoelomatetriploblasticdorsoventrally flattened, bilaterally symmetrical worms in which the internal organs are well developed and metameric segmentation is absent.
  • Annelida (segmented worms)
    • phylum of coelomate worms that have a definite head and good metameric segmentation
  • Mollusca ('muscular foot' snails, shellfish, octopuses)
  • Arthropoda (exoskeleton - crabs, crayfish, lobster)
    • a highly diverse phylum
  • Chordata (vertebrates, spine)
3 of 9

Classes in Chordata

  • Agnatha
    • jawless fish
    • lamprey, hagfish
  • Chondrichthyes
    • cartilage fish
    • sharks and rays
  • Osteichthyes
    • bony fish
    • perch
  • Amphibia
    • salamanders, toads, frogs
  • Reptilia
    • lizards and snakes
  • Aves
  • Mammalia
4 of 9

Orders of Mammalia: Part 1

For Mammalia

  • Artiodactyla (even-toed ungulates)
    • the even-toed ungulates, an order of mammals that includes the camels, pigs, and ruminants, together with numerous extinct varieties. They are the most successful of the hoofed mammals.
  • Carnivora (meat eaters)
    • An order that comprises the modern carnivorous placental mammals and their immediate ancestors
  • Cetacea (whales and porpoise)
    • An order that comprises the one extinct and two extant suborders of whales
    • cetacean: a whale, dolphin or porpoise
  • Chiroptera (bats)
    • an order that comprises the only true flying mammals, possessing features parallel to those of birds
  • Dermoptera (flying lemurs)
    • an order which comprises the family Cynocephalidae and a number of extinct forms. They are herbivorous possessing a patagium, and are the most highly developed of all mammalian gliding forms.
5 of 9

Orders of Mammalia: Part 2

  • Edentata (toothless mammals)
    • a former order comprising the anteaters, tree sloths, armadillos, pangolins, and aardvarks, all of which lack incisors and have molars that are poorly developed or absent, edentate means toothless.
  • Hyracoidea (hyrax)
    • an order that contains the single family Procaviidae (conies, dassies, hyraxes)
  • Insectivora (moles, shrew, hedgehogs)
    • an order, once recognised, that included the ancestors of all eutherian mammals, nowadays grouped into four ordersProteutheriaScandentia (tree shrews), Macroscelidae (elephant shrews), Lipotyphla (living hedgehogs, shrews and moles)
  • Lagomorpha (hares and rabbits)
    • an order that comprises the families Eurymylidae (extinct forms), Ochotonidae (pikas), and Leporidae (rabbits, cottontails and hares). Diverged from primitive eutherian stock.
  • Marsupialia (marsupials)
    • includes all marsupials. There are about 250 species of living marsupials and many extinct forms.
6 of 9

Orders of Mammalia: Part 3

  • Pinnipedia (seals and walrus)
    • the name was formerly given to a supposed suborder of Carnivora. It comprises the families Otarridae (sea lions), Odobenidae (walrus), and Phocidae (seals), together with their immediate ancestors.
  • Primates (monkeys, apes and lemurs)
    • an order of mammals that have adapted to arboreal life and in some forms secondarily to life on the ground
  • Proboscidae (elephants)
    • An order that comprises elephants and their extinct relatives, and is divided into four suborders
  • Rodentia (squirrel and chipmunks, hamsters, rats)
    • an order of herbivorous or scavenging mammals in which the incisors are reduced to one pair in each jaw. Their teeth grow continually. 
  • Sirenia (manatees and dugongs)
    • An order of herbivorous ungulates that have adapted to a fully aquatic life.
  • Tubulidentata (aardvarks)
    • an order comprising the monospecific family Orycteropodidae (Orycteropus afer, or the aardvark.
7 of 9

Families of Primates

For primates families include:

  • Daubentoniidae (aye-aye)
  • Cheirogaleidae (dwarf lemurs0
  • Lemuridae (lemurs)
8 of 9


  • Lowland Tapir (Tapirus terrestris)
  • Bornean Orangutan (Pongo pygmaeus)
  • Aardvark (Orycteropus afer)
  • Okapi (Okapia johnstoni)
  • Northern White Rhinoceros (Ceratotherium simum cottoni)
  • Sugar Glider (Petaurus breviceps)
  • Guinea Pig (Cavia porcellus)
  • Bearded Dragon (Pogona vitticeps)
  • Orca (Orcinus orca)
  • Jird (Meriones)
  • Sulcata Tortoise (Centrochelys sulcata)
  • Rhea (Rhea americana)
  • Peacock (Pavo cristatus)
  • Capybara (Hydrochoerus hydrochaeris)
  • European hedgehog (Erinaceus europaeus)
9 of 9


No comments have yet been made

Similar Other resources:

See all Other resources »See all Animal Management resources »