RE - Sikhism End of Unit Exam

  • Created by: Dan S.
  • Created on: 17-05-13 21:02

How Sikhism has changed through different Gurus

Guru Nanak - Founder of Sikhism; Focused on making Sikhism a religion of equality

Guru Gobind Singh - Founder of the Khalsa; Founded the 5 K's and the last names (Singh and Kaur)

1 of 2

Different types of Sikh

Amrit Dhari - one who has recieved baptisal vows of the Khalsa and he or she abides by these vows and follows the rules of wearing the 5 K's

Kesh Dhari - one who doesn't trim or remove their hair but has not been inititated

Sahaj Dhari - literally means "slow adopter" and is a person who has chosen the path of Sikhism, but has still not become initiated. They believe in the teachings of the Sikh Gurus but may or may not wear the 5 symbols of the Sikh faith

2 of 2


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »