Pages in this set

Page 1

Preview of page 1
Jim Cole

The Richter Scale

Developed in 1935 by Charles F Richter.
Logarithmic scale that shows magnitude of earthquake:
o An earthquake of magnitude 2.0 is ten times bigger than one of magnitude 1.0, and
one of magnitude 3.0 is 100 times bigger than one of magnitude 1.0.
Each earthquake…

Page 2

Preview of page 2
Jim Cole

The Modified Mercalli Intensity Scale

Developed from Rossi-Forel scale by Giuseppe Mercalli between 1884 and 1906.
Rates an earthquake with a roman numeral based on the surface effects and damage caused
by the earthquake.
Areas around the epicentre may be differently rated, based on the surface effect in…


No comments have yet been made

Similar Geography resources:

See all Geography resources »