Buddhism: the three refuges and the noble eightfold path

Explaining the concept of the three refuges and the noble eightfold path with sources listed for more information. Could be used for the phhilosiphy and applied ethics good and evil unit.

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Hannah
  • Created on: 18-11-12 16:17
Preview of Buddhism: the three refuges and the noble eightfold path

First 167 words of the document:

The three refuges
A refuge is a place people go for safety or security. The Buddha says people
often go to the wrong place for these things such as false beliefs. The three
refuges are Buddha, Dhamma and Sangha.
Taking Refuge in the Buddha is an acceptance that you can become fully
enlightened and perfected like the Buddha did.
Taking Refuge in the Dhamma means understanding the Four Noble Truths and
undertaking to follow the Noble Eightfold Path.
Taking Refuge in the Sangha means looking for support, inspiration and
guidance from all who walk the Noble Eightfold Path.
By doing these things you become a Buddhist.
The noble eightfold path
The noble eightfold path describes the steps to follow in order to end
Through wisdom:
1. Right view ­ the ability to see things as they truly are
2. Right intention- commitment to ethical and mental self-improvement
Through ethical conduct:

Other pages in this set

Page 2

Preview of page 2

Here's a taster:

Right speech- to tell the truth, to speak friendly, warm, and gently and
to talk only when necessary
4. Right action- to act in ways which are calm and kind and do not hurt
5. Right livelihood- Do not have a job which does not follow Buddha's other
teachings e.g. weapons dealer, prostitution, meat farming, butchery and
selling of intoxicants
Through Mental development:
6. Right effort- Effort to follow the Buddha's teachings
7. Right mindfulness- Being aware and able to see things clearly.…read more


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all resources »