overview ofstages of mitosis.

HideShow resource information

cell cycle

The cell cycle starts with intephase in which DNA is replicated, cyptoplasm and organelles grow.

The next phase is mitosis. this consist of 4 stages:

  •  prophase
  • metaphase
  •  anaphase
  • telephase

Cytokinesis is division of the cyptoplasm and may or maynot occur after the cell cycle. for example it doesnt occu in musclecells.

a key thing about mitosis is that it doesnt bring about genetic variation it merely leads to theproduction of 2 identical daughter cells.

1 of 5


1st stage of mitosis. the following happens:

  • chromosomes condense and appear shorter and fatter.this enables the chromosomes to be more easily moved.
  • the nucleoli dissappear and the nuclear membrane breaks down
  • spindle apperatus appears( controll movement of chromosomes)
  • in late prophate the spindle apperatus move to opposite poles.
2 of 5


the 2nd stageof mitosis:

  • centromeres of the chromosomes line up on the equator of the cell.
  • the centromeres divide
  • spindle apperatus is fully formed
  • one sister chromatid from each chromosome is attached to opposite microtubule at opposite poles

(microtubule is part of the spindle apparatus. sisterchromatids make up the chromosomes. 2 in each chromosome.)


3 of 5


the 3rd stage of mitosis:

  • the centromeres separate
  • sister chromatids are pulled toopposite poles of the cell by the shortening of the spindle aperatus.
  • sister chromatids now referred to as daughter chromosomes.


4 of 5


end stage:

  • 2 sets of daughter chromatids reach opposite poles
  • nuclei and muclear membrane reforms

2 identical nuclei are the product.

5 of 5


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all Cellular processes and structure resources »