Pages in this set

Page 1

Preview of page 1
Topic 3- DNA

The Structure of DNA
DNA is a polynucleotide made up of monomers called nucleotides.
Each nucleotide is composed of three parts- a deoxyribose sugar, a phosphate
group and an organic base.
There are four bases- adenine, thymine, guanine and cytosine.
Adenine and guanine are purines and thymine…

Page 2

Preview of page 2
Introns and Multiple Repeats

Introns are lengths of non-coding DNA.
Introns have to be removed from mRNA before the protein is synthesised.
Multiple repeats are repeated base sequences between genes.

Meiosis is the process of cell division that produces gametes.
Gametes are produced every time one cell divides by…

Page 3

Preview of page 3
Further variation occurs due to fertilisation being a random process- any sperm can fertilise any egg.


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »