HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Rachel
  • Created on: 22-03-13 11:08

The tenakh is the holy book used in Judaism

The three divisions: Torah - the Five Books of Moses; Nevi'im - Prophets; and Ketuvim - Writings. 

Christians often refer to the Tenakh as the Old Testament

Jews believe that the contents of the Tenakh were compiled by a group of scholars and leaders known as 'Men of the Great Assembly'. 

Contents of the Tenakh


  • The Torah consists of the first five books of the Tenakh. It is often referred to as the 'Five Books of Moses'.
  • Handwritten parchment scroll that is kept in a special cupboard or ark in a place of honour in synagogues.
  • When the Torah is printed it is commonly referred to as a 'Chumash'


  • This secton of the Tenkah consists of eight books,


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Judaism resources »