Religious Studies

HideShow resource information



Euthanasia is not suicide but the assisted ending of someone's life who is suffering. Most religions offer teaching on euthanasia and the end of life.

Euthanasia is illegal in the United Kingdom.

There are two principal types of euthanasia

  • voluntary euthanasia -  the person concerned asks someone to help them die, perhaps by asking for help to take an overdose of painkiller
  • involuntary euthanasia - euthanasia is carried out without the patient’s consent, for example, if they are in a persistent vegetative state and no longer able to live without a lifesupport machine, which is then switched off

Christian attitudes towards


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Sanctity of life resources »