Reliability issues concerning the diagnosis of schizophrenia

  • Created by: z_mills1
  • Created on: 01-04-15 12:34

First-rank symptoms (Kurt Schneider)

  • identified a group of symptoms that distinguished schizophrenia from other disorders
  • helped clinicians to determine the diagnosis of schizophrenia 

Differences between ICD-10 and DSM-TR-IV

Duration: DSM requires symptoms to be present for 6 months. ICD requires 1 month.

Emphasis: DSM emphasizes the course of the disorder and the accompanying functional impairment. ICD focuses more on first-rank symptoms (these are symptoms which are rarely found in disorders other than schizophrenia).

Dimensions: DSM is multi-axial which means that various factors are taken into consideration before a diagnosis is made e.g. personality type. 

Different types of schizophrenia: ICD-10 distinguishes 7 types, DSM has 5.

  • Paranoid schizophrenia: Involves delusions of persecution and hallucinations. Reduction of negative symptoms such as lack of emotional expression and incoherent speech.
  • Hebephrenic schizophrenia: Behaviour is aimless and disorganised. Speech is incoherent. More


No comments have yet been made