Music GCSE - Mozart; Symphony No. 40

HideShow resource information

Mozart: Symphony No. 40


            This piece was written in 1788 and usually is performed in a larger room of a stately house or in a small concert hall.

            It is the first of four movements from Mozart’s symphony no. 40.

            This piece is in sonata form and therefore has an exposition, development and recapitulation. The exposition is split into two subjects and the recapitulation repeats these two subjects but with some variation and it includes a coda.

            The piece is in G minor and in the second subject of the exposition it modulates to the relative major, Bb major. However it does not modulate in the recapitulation as the piece ends in the tonic key. This piece is diatonic and uses chromatic notes, a circle of 5ths progression and pedal


No comments have yet been made

Similar Music resources:

See all Music resources »See all Mozart resources »