Educational Policy

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: lfcvish
  • Created on: 20-12-11 13:44

The tripartite system:

The Education act 1944, brought the tripartite system. It was called this because children were selected and allocated to one of 3 different types of secondary schools. These were identified by the 11+ exams, which was taken by every child at 11. These schools were:

Grammar Schools - offered an academic curriculum and access to non manual jobs and to higher education. They were for pupils with academic ability, who passed the 11+. These pupils were mainly middle class.

Secondary Modern Schools - offered a non academic curriculum and access to manual work for pupils who failed the 11+. These people were mainly working class.

Technical Schools - Only existed in a few areas. designed to…


No comments have yet been made

Similar Sociology resources:

See all Sociology resources »See all Education resources »