Coordination & Control

HideShow resource information

There are 3 types of neurones. Sensory, motor and relay.

The motor neurone, this transmits impulses to the appropriate effectors, whether this is a muscle or a gland.  The various parts of this neurone are as follows:

  •     Cell Body – contains the nucleus and most of the other cell organelles e.g. mitochondria
  •     Axons – conduct nerve impulses, they can be myelinated or unmyelinated
  •   Myelin Sheath – consists mainly of lipids and surround the axon.. it is formed from Schwann cells and provides electrical insulation.
  •      Nodes of Ranvier – these are gaps in the myelin sheath along the axon
  •     Synaptic


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all Human, animal and plant physiology resources »