the cardiac cycle

the cardiac cycle

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: tom
  • Created on: 07-01-09 17:08

The cardiac cycle has three stages

1. Atrial Systole(pronounced sis-toe-lay). The SAN contracts and transmits electrical impulses throughout the atria, which both contract, pumping blood into the ventricles. The ventricles are electrically insulated from the atria, so they do not contract at this time.

1 of 4

stage 2

2. Ventricular Systole. The electrical impulse passes to the ventricles via the atrioventricular nodebundle of His and the Purkinje fibres. These are specialised fibres that do not contract but pass the electrical impulse to the base of the ventricles, with a short but important delay of about 0.1s. The ventricles therefore contract shortly after the atria, from the bottom up, squeezing blood upwards into the arteries. The blood can't go into the atria because of the atrioventricular valves, which are forced shut with a loud "lub".

2 of 4

stage 3

3. Diastole.The atria and the ventricles relax, while the atria fill with blood. The semilunar valves in the arteries close as the arterial blood pushes against them, making a "dup" sound.

3 of 4

4 of 4


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all Human, animal and plant physiology resources »