Slides in this set

Slide 1

Preview of page 1

The Court of Appeal
(Civil Division)
· Mainly deals with appeals
against decisions of the
High Court and County
· Its judges are known as
the Lords Justices of
· The President of the Civil
Division is the Master of
the Rolls.…read more

Slide 2

Preview of page 2

The High Court
· Its full title is The High
Court of Justice.
· Organised into three
divisions: the Queen's
Bench, Family and
Chancery Divisions.
· When a division sits as an
appeal court, it is known
as a divisional court.
· A High Court judge is
known as a puisne judge.…read more

Slide 3

Preview of page 3

County Court
· A local court hearing civil
· It generally deals with
claims less than £50,000.
· Either a circuit judge or a
district judge will hear a
· Claims for less than
£5,000 are heard using
the Small Claims
Procedure.…read more

Slide 4

Preview of page 4

Family Division
of the High Court
· Hears cases involving the
family such as those
under the Children Act
1989, matrimonial cases
and uncontested grants of
· Divisional Court hears
appeals from the
Magistrates' Court's
Family Panel.…read more

Slide 5

Preview of page 5

Chancery Division
of the High Court
· Hears cases involving
bankruptcy, mortgages,
copyright, trade marks,
patents, company law
and contested probate
· Divisional Court hears
appeals on taxation
issues from the decisions
of the Commissioners of
Taxes.…read more

Slide 6

Preview of page 6

Queen's Bench Division
of the High Court
· Largest division of the
High Court.
· Hears cases involving tort
and contract.
· Divisional Court deals
with judicial review,
applications for habeas
corpus and appeals on a
point of law from the
Magistrates' Court.…read more


No comments have yet been made

Similar Law resources:

See all Law resources »