Symphony No.40 in G Minor.

Please comment if I have missed something!:)

Sorry if it is a bit messy there is just SO much to fit in:)

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Megan:)
  • Created on: 09-04-13 13:57
View mindmap
  • Symphony           no.40 in            G minor
    • Mozart, 1788, Classical.
    • Other composers of this period were:
      • Haydn  1732 - 1809
      • Beethoven  1770 - 1827
      • Sonata form. Exposition,  Development and Recapitulation.
      • Exposition has two subjects. One in the tonic key and one in the relative major.
      • 1st subject is in G minor. 2nd subject is in Bflat major.
      • Development explores various keys.
      • Recapitulation both the 1st and 2nd subject are in G minor.
    • MELODY
      • Balanced 4 or 8 bar phrases - sound like Question and Answer.
        • For example at the beginning of the 2nd subject there is a short 4 bar phrase that ends on an imperfect cadence - sounds like a question - it is followed by a 4 bar phrase that ends on a perfect cadence which sounds like an answer.
      • The 1st subject has a more rhythmic melody wheras the 2nd subject is more lyrical.
      • Frequent use of octave doubling.
      • Diatonic and functional
      • Chromatic chords, use of the diminished 7th and augmented 6th.
      • Circle of 5ths progression (2nd subject)
    • RHYTHM
      • Simple rhythms, occasional dotted and syncopation to build momentum,.
      • Repeated and fragmented rhythm of the first two beats of the piece. (??)
    • METRE
      • 4/4
    • TEMPO
      • Molto Allegro - Very Fast
      • Mainly homophonic - occasional polyphonic
      • Some dialogue between woodwind and strings (2nd subject)
      • Octave doubling is used throughout.
      • Exposition: 1st subject is quiet, apart from a short passage in the middle. The transition between 1st and 2nd is loud. The second starts off quietly and grows louder towards the middle but ends quietly.
      • Development has a loud section but also starts and ends quietly.
      • Recapitulation has similar dynamics to Exposition.
      • A chamber orchestra is used. Consisting of strings, woodwind and horns.
      • Scored for: Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello, Double Bass, 1 flute 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 clarinets, 2 horns one in G and the other in B flat,
        • Two horns to maximize the range of playable notes.
      • ODDITIES : NO Trumpets NO Percussion ONLY ONE Flute
      • Woodwind mostly fill harmonies.
      • Strings have barely any rests.


No comments have yet been made

Similar Music resources:

See all Music resources »See all Mozart resources »