Educational achievement

View mindmap
  • Educational Achievement
    • A levels
      • Has evolved from 2 yr linear course to a modular course between 1980s to 200. there was a stronger educational reason to standardise the exam and offer greater breadth to pupils through modules
      • 1989 AS (Advanced Supplementary) was introduced
      • schools are measured by government performance tables where they are compared against other schools on a number of factors
      • 16-19 yr olds
      • 2015 qualifications divided into two.They don't always take the AS at the end of their first year they may take it at the end of the second year.
        • If they do the AS will not contribute to their A level grade like they used to
    • GCSEs General Certificate of Secondary Education 1986
      • Year 11
      • Have changed and evolved over the years. A*-G to 9-1
      • EBacc The English Baccalaureatenew performance measure for schools awarded when students secure a C or above at GCSEs across 5 subjects
    • Progress 8
      • Its a type of added measure which means that pupils' results are compared to the actual achievement of others with the same attainment at the start
      • New measurement for secondary schools. Aims to capture the progress a student makes from end of primary to end of secondary
      • Attainment 8 will measure the achievement of a pupil across 8 qualifications not only GCSEs
    • SATs  Standard assessment tests
      • 7-11 yr olds  at end of KS2 and primary
      • The results are published by the government and are used by the media to compile primary school league tables
    • The Education Reform Act, 1988. Introduced National Curriculum, various testing and assessment methods


No comments have yet been made

Similar Sociology resources:

See all Sociology resources »See all Education resources »