Restless Earth

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: maleha
  • Created on: 25-04-13 22:39

The earth is seperated into 3 main parts:

The Lithosphere

  • The Continental Crust-solid, made of rocks which cool below the surface such as granite.
  • The Oceanic Crust- Solid, and made up of rocks which cool above the surface such as basalt.
  • The Upper Mantle- This layer is made of ultrabasic minerals, and is solid.

The Mantle

  • Asthenosphere- Partially molten layer made of peridotites.
  • Lower Mantle- Solid layer made of silica based minerals.

The Core

  • Outer core is liquid, very dense; and made of iron/nickel.
  • Inner core is solid, very dense, and made of iron/nickel.

Convection currents occur when magma in the mantle is heated up from the radioactive decay in the core…


No comments have yet been made

Similar Geography resources:

See all Geography resources »See all Rock landscapes and processes resources »