Aquatics - Health and Feeding



  • Archaea
    • prokaryotic cells
    • reproduce asexually
    • often found in abnormal conditions 
    • live without oxygen = methanobacterium 
    • In the three-domain system, one of the domains, comprising organisms formerly known as archaebacteria and placed in a kingdom of that name. 
  • Bacteria
    • prokaryotic cells
    • reproduce sexually or asexually
    • cause disease = cyanobacteria
  • Eukarya
    • eukaryotic cells
    • The domain comprising all eukaryotes. This forms the kingdoms: Plantae, Animalia, Fungi and Protoctista  
1 of 9


  • Protista: algae, slime moulds and protozoa
  • Fungi: mushrooms, ringworms, yeast and moulds
  • Plantae: flowers, trees and grasses
  • Animalia: animals
    • multicellular organisms that develop from embryos 
2 of 9

Phylums of Animalia

  • Porifera: sponges (mostly marine)
  • Cnidaria: jellyfish and anemones 
  • Platyhelminths: flatworms
  • Annelida: segmented worms
  • Mollusca: 'muscular foot' snails, shellfish, octopuses
  • Arthropoda: exoskeleton - crabs, crayfish and lobster
  • Chordata: vertebrates, animals with a spine
3 of 9

Classes in Chordata

  • Agnatha
    • jawless fish
    • lamprey, hagfish
  • Chondrichthyes 
    • cartilaginous fish
    • sharks and rays
  • Osteichthyes
    • bony fish
    • e.g., perch, salmon
  • Amphibia
    • salamanders, toads, frogs
  • Reptilia
    • lizards and snakes
  • Aves
  • Mammalia
4 of 9

Orders in Mammalia: Part 1

  • Artiodactyla
    • The even-toed ungulates, an order of mammals that includes the camels, pigs, and ruminants, together with numerous extinct varieties. They are the most successful of the hoofed mammals. 
  • Carnivora
    • An order that comprises the modern carnivorous placental mammals and their immediate ancestors.  
  • Cetacea
    • An order that comprises the one extinct and two extant suborders of whales. 
    • A cetacean: a whale, dolphin or porpoise
  • Chiroptera
    • An order that comprises the only true flying mammals, possessing features parallel to those of birds.
  • Dermoptera
    • flying lemurs
5 of 9

Order in Mammalia: Part 2

  • Edentata (toothless mammals)
    • a former order comprising the anteaters, tree sloths, armadillos, pangolins, and aardvarks, all of which lack incisors and have molars that are poorly developed or absent, edentate means toothless.
  • Hyracoidea (hyrax)
    • an order that contains the single family Procaviidae (conies, dassies, hyraxes)
  • Insectivora (moles, shrew and hedgehogs)
    • An order, once recognised, that included the ancestors of all eutherian mammals, nowadays grouped into four orders: Proteutheria, Scandentia (tree shrews), Macroscelidae (elephant shrews), Lipotyphla (living hedgehogs, shrews and moles).
  • Lagomorpha (hares and rabbits)
    • an order that comprises the families Eurymylidae (extinct forms), Ochotonidae (pikas), and Leporidae (rabbits, cottontails and hares). Diverged from primitive eutherian stock
  • Marsupialia (now the Infraclass Metatheria)
    • Includes all marsupials. There are about 250 species of living marsupials and many extinct forms. 
6 of 9

Orders in Mammalia: Part 3

  • Pinnipedia (seals and walrus)
    • the name was formerly given to a supposed suborder of Carnivora. It comprises the families Otarridae (sea lions), Odobenidae (walrus), and Phocidae (seals), together with their immediate ancestors.
  • Primates (monkeys, apes and lemurs)
    • an order of mammals that have adapted to arboreal life and in some forms secondarily to life on the ground. 
  • Proboscidea (elephants)
    • An order that comprises elephants and their extinct relatives, and is divided into four suborders.
  • Rodentia (squirrels and chipmunks, hamsters and rats)
    • an order of herbivorous or scavenging mammals in which the incisors are reduced to one pair in each jaw. Their teeth grow continually. 
  • Sirenia (manatees, dugongs)
    • An order of herbivorous ungulates that have adapted to a fully aquatic life
  • Tubulidentata (aardvarks)
    • An order comprising the monospecific family Orycteropodidae. (Orycteropus afer, or the aardvark)
7 of 9

Families in Primates

  • families in primates include:
    • Daubentoniidae (aye-aye) 
    • Cheirogaleidae (dwarf lemurs) 
    • Lemuridae (lemurs) 
8 of 9


  • Lowland Tapir (Tapirus terrestris)
  • Bornean Orangutan (Pongo pygmaeus)
  • Aardvark (Orycteropus afer)
  • Okapi (Okapia johnstoni)
  • Northern White Rhinoceros (Ceratotherium simum cottoni)
  • Sugar Glider (Petaurus breviceps)
  • Guinea Pig (Cavia porcellus)
  • Bearded Dragon (Pogona vitticeps)
  • Orca (Orcinus orca)
  • Jird (Meriones)
  • Sulcata Tortoise (Centrochelys sulcata)
  • Rhea (Rhea americana)
  • Peacock (Pava cristatus)
  • Capybara (Hydrochoerus hydrochaeris)
  • European Hedgehog (Erinaceus europaeus)
9 of 9


No comments have yet been made

Similar Other resources:

See all Other resources »See all Animal Management resources »