Sense Organs

HideShow resource information

Sense Organs

Sense Organs

There are five different sense organs. Which all contain different receptors.

Receptors are a groups of cells which are sensitive to a stimulus such as light or heat, etc.

When they are activated by a stimulus they generate electrical impulses.

The five sense organs and the stimuli that each of them is sensitive to:

Eyes: light receptors

Ears:  sound and balance receptors

Nose: taste and smell receptors (chemical stimuli)

Tongue: Taste and smell receptors, (chemical stimuli)

Skin:  touch and temperature receptors.


1 of 2

Other part of the Nervous System

Spinal Cord : This is the bundle of nerves that transmits information up and down the body.

Motor Neurones: The nerve cells that carry signals to from th brain to the effectors (muscle and glands).

Sensory Neurones: The nerve cells that carry signals from the receptors in the sense organs towards the brain.

Effectors : All your muscles and glands will respond to nervous impulses.


2 of 2


No comments have yet been made

Similar Science resources:

See all Science resources »See all Nerves and the nervous system resources »