health and social care revison

  • Created by: lauren
  • Created on: 30-04-13 14:47

Life stages

1.       infancy (0–3);

2.       childhood (4–10);

3.       adolescence (11–18);

4.       adulthood (19–65);

5.       later adulthood (65+).

1 of 12


refers to an increase in physical size (taller, smaller, heavier, lighter, stronger, weaker). Growth is just a physical occurrence. It is something everyone does

2 of 12


is concerned with the emergence and increase in more difficult skills, abilities and emotions. Development is about the learning of new skills throughout all life stages. People develop some skills better than others. Development can happen physically, intellectually, emotionally and socially. 

3 of 12


are things which make a person or thing unique/individual.

4 of 12

Milestones of Development

Measured points in a person’s life when they increase in skill.

5 of 12

Sequential Development

Increasing in skills in an order

6 of 12

Gross Motor Skill and Fine Motor Skill

Skills using smaller muscles e.g. Fingers and Skills using large muscles e.g. arms, legs

7 of 12

Norm and ‘Norm of growth and development’

 norm - means average

Norm of growth and development’ is the average of what is expected to happen at that age/stage

8 of 12

Centile chart

A chart showing the average or norm for a child’s age

9 of 12

50th percentile

The line you expect an average child to follow on a centile chart

10 of 12


The health worker who assists with pregnancy and labour up until 10 days after the birth.

11 of 12

Health visitor

The health worker who takes over from the Midwife and gives help and advice up to age 5.

12 of 12


No comments have yet been made

Similar Health & Social Care resources:

See all Health & Social Care resources »