Pages in this set

Page 1

Preview of page 1
The main stages of mitosis:

BEFORE mitosis occurs: during interphase all the DNA in the nucleus is replicated, each DNA
molecule is converted into identical DNA molecules called chromatids The 2 chromatids are joined
together at the centromere ­ it is essential that they are kept together during mitosis so…

Page 2

Preview of page 2
In plants: plants have cell walls so it's not possible for a cleavage furrow to form. Instead vesicles
assemble in the same place as the spindle equator was formed. The vesicles fuse with each other
and the cell surface membrane dividing the cell into 2. Then new cell wall is…

Page 3

Preview of page 3
Meiosis 2: the 2 daughter cells now undergo: prophase 2, metaphase 2, anaphase 2, telophase 2
and cytokinesis in the same way as meiosis 1 except with half the number of chromosomes.

In anaphase 2: the sister chromatids are separated with each new daughter cell inheriting 1
chromatid from each…


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »