introduction to the five pillars of islam

hey this is just the intro so be sure to watch out for the rest of the project :) if you can't find it just send me a note

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Mz
  • Created on: 05-12-09 15:12
Preview of introduction to the five pillars of islam

First 171 words of the document:

Islam 5 pillars of Islam Introduction
Islam is one of the most widely practised religions in the world with over 1.3
billion followers. Islam was founded in Mecca by the prophet Muhammad
(pbuh). The 5 pillars of Islam are the most important practises and beliefs in
a Muslim's life. They follow the five pillars to show obedience and love to
Allah. They are the foundation of the Islamic belief.
The First pillar is shahadah, the confirmation "There is no god but Allah, and
Muhammad is the messenger of god"
The Second pillar is salah, the set prayers Muslims must perform towards
The third pillar is Zakah. Zakah is almsgiving.
The fourth pillar is sawm, the daily fast performed throughout Ramadan.
The fifth pillar is Hajj, The pilgrimage to Mecca in the 12th Islamic month.
We will be looking at the 5 pillars of Islam and how they make an impact on
a Muslim's life.


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all resources »