The Divine 

  • Created by: leila08
  • Created on: 07-11-18 18:32
View mindmap
  • The Divine
    • Explaining the Divine
      • Picture language and parables have been used by religious teachers in all faiths to help people understand difficult concepts about God.
    • Different aspects of the Divine
      • The Divine exists everywhere, as a non-personal God, called Brahman
      • The Divine is within the heart of everyone, called antaryami, meaning the God within
      • The Divine is a personal God or Lord, called bhagavan and approached through many different deities, living in vaikuntha
    • The tri-murti
      • Brahma - the Creator
        • Brahma holds four objects
          • the book represents the Vedas showing he is guided by them
          • The spoon represents a sacrificial ladle used in worship, showing he is responsible for offerings
          • The string of beads represents a mala, which is used in meditation
          • the water pot represents the water of life, which was responsible for the beginning of creation
        • The lotus flower
          • the lotus is a symbol of purity as it emerges pure white from the mud of a river.
          • It is said that he was born sitting on a lotus flower emerging from the navel of Vishnu
          • "Brahma was [...] the Creator of all" Mundaka Upanishad
        • The consort of Brahma
          • Saraswati is the consort of Brahma - she is the goddess of music and knowledge, art and learning
          • Saraswati sits in a lotus flower and is often pictured riding upon a swan, which is a symbol of spiritual perfection
      • Vishnu - the Preserver
        • Vishnu is special in four ways
          • He represents the soul of the entire universe
          • He gave birth to Brahma who created the universe
          • He enters the heart of every living being to become the lord within
          • He is worshipped through avatars
        • Vishnu means 'one who enters everywhere' in Sanskrit
        • Vaishnavism is a warm and personal religion
        • Images of Vishnu are meant to remind Hindus to follow religious and moral laws, and that Vishnu steps in when necessary to restore moral order
      • Shiva - the Destroyer
        • Shaivites select the quality that appeals to them the most or is most relevant to their situation in life at the time
        • Shaivites are often ascetics  aiming for liberation through complete detachment
        • Shiva's symbolism
          • animal hides: sitting on a tiger skin is a sign of an ascetic, and his mastery over the powerful tiger which represents lust
          • trident: represents the tri-murti
          • serpents: could represent Shiva's creative powers after destruction, as it throws off its skin to rejuvenate
          • third eye: symbolises spiritual knowledge and power
          • ash: holy men smear themselves with ash
          • blue body: because he drank poison saving the world from destruction
          • River Ganges: representing everlasting time
          • earrings: right represents male and the left female, showing he is both sexes
          • Nandi: shows Shiva's calm and gentle aspects, symbolises courage


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Hinduism resources »