Classification - Plant Phylums

View mindmap
  • Classification and Plant Phylums
    • First cell was a single cell meaning that after that all other cells were developed
    • Classification helps us to understand evolutionary relationships and also to study different group of organisms
      • there are two types of classification;morphology and phylogeny
        • Morphology is the study of internal and external physical features
        • phylogeny is the study of DNA and establishing molecular relationships
    • Linnaeus discovered the binominal naming system in 1735
    • there are three kinds of domains; eukaryotes, bacteria and archaea
      • Bacteria and archae are examples of prokaryotes since they do not have a nucleus but do have a cell wall
      • eukaryotes have a nucleus but do not have a cell wall
    • dicotos/dichotomous have 2 seeds in a leaf eg pea
      • Monochots have one seed e.g. corn or wheat
    • human classification system: Domain= eukaryota, Kingdom= animalia, Phylum= Chordata, Class= Mammalia, Order= primates, Family= Homonidae, Genus= Homo, Species= Sapiens
    • diploids = 46 chromosomesin humans and haploids are 23 chromosomes
    • There are 4 main types of plant phylums; Bryophyta= mosses, Filicinophyta=ferns, Coniferophyta= coniferous trees and Angiospermophyta= flowering plants
      • bryophytas: green, non vascular, seedless, reproduce via spores, gametophytes, small leaves, low stature
      • Filicinopyta: seedless, vascular, spores at the back of leaf, large leaves called fronds, low stature, stems are underground
      • Untitled
      • coniferophyta: needle like leaves, naked seeds, cones, vascular
      • Untitled


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all Variety of life and classification resources »