Insect Life Cycles and Adaptions for Nutrition

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Loomy
  • Created on: 22-04-14 11:32

1. What is the correct difference between the dentition of a carnivore and a herbivore?

  • Herbivores have a diastema, whereas carnivores do not
  • Carnivores have a horny pad for gripping onto prey, herbivores do not
  • Herbivores have specially developed carnassials for grinding down plant material, carnivores do not
  • A carnivore's canines are indistinguishable from its other teeth, herbivores have distinguished canines
1 of 9

Other questions in this quiz

2. What are the two different types of insect life cycles?

  • Complete metamorphosis and developing metamorphosis
  • Exopterygota metamorphosis and Endopterygota metamorphosis
  • Incomplete metamorphosis and complete metamorphosis
  • Irregular metamorphosis and regular metamorphosis

3. What difference is there between the guts of carnivores and herbivores?

  • The carnivore gut is much shorter than the herbivore gut
  • Herbivores have a duodenum, carnivores do not
  • Carnivores have a larger caecum than herbivores
  • Carnivores have a longer small intestine than herbivores

4. What are the stages in incomplete metamorphosis?

  • Egg > Pupa > Nymph (or instars) > Adult (or imago)
  • Egg > Adult (or imago) > Nymph (or instars)
  • Egg > Nymph (or instars) > Adult (or imago)
  • Egg > Adolescent > Nymph (or instars) > Adult (or imago)

5. Which regions in the human gut are involved in absorption?

  • Stomach and small intestine
  • Mouth, stomach and small intestine
  • Oesophagus and stomach
  • Stomach, small intestine and large intestine


No comments have yet been made

Similar Biology resources:

See all Biology resources »See all Human, animal and plant physiology resources »