Buddhism terminology AS

Three Marks of Existence
Anatta, Anicca, Dukkha
1 of 27
No permanent self
2 of 27
All existent things change
3 of 27
Suffering is part of life
4 of 27
Four Noble Truths
The truth of suffering, the truth of the origin of suffering, the truth of the cessation of suffering, the truth of the path to the cessation of suffering
5 of 27
Four Parajikas
Sex, theft, murder, lying about one's stage of awakening
6 of 27
Five Skandhas
We're made of parts: the physical body, feelings, perceptions, mental formation, consciousness
7 of 27
The Eightfold Path
Right: view, resolve, speech, conduct, livelihood, effort, mindfulness, meditative absorption ti
8 of 27
Kisa Gotami
Her son died, she was upset. She went to Buddha who told her to find a house where no death had occurred. But she couldn’t find a house where there had been no death. She realised that others had lost loved ones, she was no longer attached to her son
9 of 27
The way of the elders, the 'original' Buddhism
10 of 27
Strictly, the community of monks and nuns but can also mean the whole Buddhist community.
11 of 27
the practice of reciting precepts (rules) in the Theravada sangha.
12 of 27
Pali Canon
the set of Buddhist scriptures written in the language of Pali and known as the Tipitaka.
13 of 27
A Buddhist that is not a monk or nun
14 of 27
Vinaya Pitaka
One basket. Patimokkha is within that.
15 of 27
A person who has attained enlightenment in Theravada Buddhism. • The path of the arhat is a solitary one. People reach nirvana alone, and it is down to individual effort. An arhat is one who has experienced nirvana during life.
16 of 27
Bodhisattvas get enlightened but come back to help others.
17 of 27
18 of 27
19 of 27
Samatha means ‘calming’. It can lead to a more tranquil and rested mind, enabling deeper concentration.
20 of 27
Things people can focus on during samatha meditation.
21 of 27
Metta Bhavana
Metta Bhavana is a meditation on love. It involves the conjuring up loving feelings to send to all beings in the world. Also known as loving kindness meditation.
22 of 27
Also known as ‘insight meditation’ or ‘wisdom meditation’. It involves analysing one’s self in relation to the basic truths that Buddhism promotes. During meditation, one will investigate ideas such as anicca, anatta, or dukkha.
23 of 27
Nirvana is the state you are in when you have reached enlightenment.
24 of 27
The Sangha (both lay and monk) commit themselves to the five precepts. When a bhikkhu is ordained he undertakes the Ten Precepts. These aren't rules. These are promises that are made to yourself.
25 of 27
Using something to make you feel better about the situation you’re in.
26 of 27
The Three Refuges in Buddhism
Buddha (the doctor), Sangha (the community), Dharma (the medicine)
27 of 27

Other cards in this set

Card 2


No permanent self



Card 3


All existent things change


Preview of the back of card 3

Card 4


Suffering is part of life


Preview of the back of card 4

Card 5


The truth of suffering, the truth of the origin of suffering, the truth of the cessation of suffering, the truth of the path to the cessation of suffering


Preview of the back of card 5
View more cards


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Buddhism resources »