• Created by: jordanb-h
  • Created on: 02-04-18 12:36
State an important point about the Buddha after enlightenment
The lotus is one of the symbols of Buddhism- for example a statue of a seated Buddha will be sitting on a opened lotus flower, while a standing Buddha may be holding out a closed flower to the worshipper
1 of 38
State an important point about the Buddha after enlightenment
Having taught the ascetics- who were close to enlightenment- Siddhartha taught anyone. This shows Buddhism is for anyone which reflects the Buddha's compassion and concern for all
2 of 38
What does Dukkha mean?
3 of 38
What does Attachment mean?
not wanting to be seperated from someone or something
4 of 38
What does Nirodha mean?
cessation of suffering
5 of 38
What does Magga mean?
the path, the fourth noble truth
6 of 38
State a useful quote
This being, that comes to be; from the arising of this, that arises; this not being, that ceases; from the ceasing of this, that creases
7 of 38
What does Panna mean?
8 of 38
What does Samadhi mean?
9 of 38
What does Sila mean?
10 of 38
Where does the four noble truths come from?
the three marks of existence as it explains suffering and impermanence. During his enlightenment the Buddha realised these truths. The Four Noble truths are the essence of Dhamma
11 of 38
What was the Buddha known as?
the great physician and the four noble truths can be seen as following a medical model of diagnosis (First truth), cause (second truth), cure (Third truth) and prescription (fourth truth)
12 of 38
What is the first Noble Truth?
Since all existence is impermanent, all existence must involve suffering. forms of suffering are everyday pain and unpleasantness, that is caused by the experience and realisation of impermanence (anicca/anatta)
13 of 38
What is the realisation of impermanence caused by?
by what has gone before our karmic programming
14 of 38
What is Dukkha caused by?
by desire/craving, our attitude and attachment. It is also caused by the three poisons
15 of 38
What are the three poisons?
greed, ignorance and hatred
16 of 38
What is the second noble truth?
Suffering is caused by craving. We suffer because we continue to crave- we want bad things to stop, we want good things to never end, we want more of what makes us feel good. This may all sound fine, but it perpetuates the craving
17 of 38
What does dependent arising explain?
how tanha comes about because it explains how all things come to exist
18 of 38
What does this quote "He who perceives paticca samuppada perceives the Dhamma" said the Buddha mean?
Essentially, our past lives shape our present and future, but in the present life desire and attachment build to keep us bound to the cycle of rebirth
19 of 38
What is the third noble truth?
End tanha by achieving nin-attachment- stop wanting= stop suffering. This is also nibanna- when a person stops being attached to the material world and what is in it, they have the calm of enlightenment
20 of 38
How is Nirodha described in Buddhist scripture?
the destruction of the skandhas, supreme happiness, the stopping of becoming, the ending of craving, final destruction of the intentions, the end of suffering. It can be seen as a state of being (peace, blessing, purity), or a place
21 of 38
What is the fourth noble truth?
The way to nirodha is by the path. This is Buddhist practise, known as the noble eightfold path
22 of 38
How many elements does magga have?
eight. A buddhist cannot focus on just one or two.
23 of 38
What do the noble eightfold path elements lead to?
enlightenment and those not following the spokes are on the outer rim (wheel of rebirth, sansara). this is one reason why the wheel is such an important symbol for Buddhism
24 of 38
What are the eight elements of the buddhist wheel?
right view, right though/ intention, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness and right concentration
25 of 38
How can Magga be understoood as?
the threefold way- this still uses the elements of the eightfold path path but is grouped into three aspects which is wisdom (right thought/view), morality (right action/speech/ livelihood) and meditation (right effort/meditation/ concentration)
26 of 38
What is the fourth noble truth?
the noble eightfold path. it is the eight part system for living for a Buddhist. The wheel reflects the idea we are on the rim of life but by following the eightfold path we reach enlightenment
27 of 38
Each part of the eightfold path must be what?
followed as the elements are linked. A buddhist would not try to perfect just one element at a time and instead they would be working on all of them
28 of 38
How many ways can the eightfold path be split?
29 of 38
Where is the threefold way seen?
in the Dhammapada - avoid all evil, cultivate good and cleanse one's mind- this is the teaching of the Buddha
30 of 38
What is right concentration?
This is meditation, which needs discipline and training. It removes the mental hindrances of sensuality, ill-will, laziness, worry and scepticism
31 of 38
What is right mindfulness?
This is about training one's mind to be able to recognise what is important and not to be distracted from the path
32 of 38
What is right effort?
This is about developing in oneself positive qualities while reducing negative ones. In effort, everything is done in a compassionate but non-attached way
33 of 38
What is right livelihood?
means avoiding types of work, specifically those dealing with weapons, intoxicants, abuse of other living beings. lending money at high rates of interest is discouraged
34 of 38
What is right action?
always acting kindly means not hurting others, not stealing or taking what is not freely given, and not misbehaving sexually
35 of 38
What is right speech?
using language kindly includes not lying, not spreading untruths, not gossiping and not using language hurtfully
36 of 38
What is right thought/ intention?
having only compassionate and positive thoughts towards others and in all actions
37 of 38
What is right view/ understanding?
this is seeing things as what they really are. The four noble truths are the ultimate form of this
38 of 38

Other cards in this set

Card 2


State an important point about the Buddha after enlightenment


Having taught the ascetics- who were close to enlightenment- Siddhartha taught anyone. This shows Buddhism is for anyone which reflects the Buddha's compassion and concern for all

Card 3


What does Dukkha mean?


Preview of the front of card 3

Card 4


What does Attachment mean?


Preview of the front of card 4

Card 5


What does Nirodha mean?


Preview of the front of card 5
View more cards


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Buddhism resources »