Womens Suffrage

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: James
  • Created on: 30-05-10 12:08


Suffragists formal name was the NATIONAL UNION OF WOMENS SUFFRAGE SOCIETIES, which was founded in 1897 by Millicent Fawcett. The suffragists were peaceful campaingers who used persuasion, meetings and petitions to Parliment.


The Suffragettes formal name was the WOMEN'S SOCIAL AND POLICTICAL UNION, which was founded in 1903 by Emmeline Pankhurst and her daughters Christabel and Sylvia. The suffragettes thought the suffragists were taking things too slowly. They didnt mind being arrested as it attracted some sympathy too and that they were serious about getting the vote. In 1907 Qualification of Women Act encouraged the cause, allowing women to become county and borough councillors, or mayors.

After 1912 the protests became more extreme:

  • They chained themselves to railings outside…


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »