What are the key elements of the legal system?

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Sophie
  • Created on: 18-04-13 20:54
  • Clear court structure of Her Majesty's Court Service (HMCS)
  • Supreme Court - Hear appeals from Court of Appeal and High Court. Run law Law Lords. No jury. 
  • High Court - Chancery division (involving money/tax), Divisional Court (bankruptcy/land), Queen's bench division, Contract and tort, Commerical Court, Admiralty Court, Administrative Court (oversee legality of other decisions)
  • Court of Appeal - Hear appeals from Crown Court, High Court and County Court. Civil and Criminal divisions. No jury. 
  • Crown Court  - Hear criminal cases for sentencing with judge and jury trial. Hear appeals from Magistrates Court. 
  • Magistrates Court - Here criminal cases including small offences, family issues and youth courts. No jury.
  • County Courts -


No comments have yet been made

Similar Government & Politics resources:

See all Government & Politics resources »