HideShow resource information

USA: Basic Political framework 


In the USA the government is split into three parts:

1) Executive- President 

The president has the power to declare war, veto any law that Congress tried to change or pass, and can pass his own law sometimes without Congress, like when he allowed immigrants to stay in America for a certain period of time.

2) Legislative- Representative(435. based on population) and Senators (100. 2 from each state)

In the Federal government, Senators propose bills (ways to clarify issues or change a condition/situation) and laws or changes to laws. Like the gun laws that let people own guns. Democratic Senators try to put limits on who can have guns and what you need to do to get a gun.

Republicans try to keep laws as they are so that anybody


No comments have yet been made

Similar Government & Politics resources:

See all Government & Politics resources »See all Constitutional frameworks of US government resources »