Theme A- Citizens and Local Government


Citizens and Local Government:

Central Government: Westminster, passes national laws, defence, national security, immigration, nuclear energy, broadcasting, taxation, social security and has devolved responsibility for England.

Devolved Assemblies/Parliaments: Wales, Scotland, NI, responsible for national legislation not covered by Westminster

Regional bodies: responsibilities such as election of police and crime commissioners. Some cities have elected Mayor. e.g. elected Mayor responsible for economic, social, and environmental improvements in the Greater London Authority.

County Council: responsible for e.g. education, fire service, libraries, social care, transport and highways.

Local councils (e.g. district, unitary, borough) : responsibilities including collection of council tax and rates, housing, leisure, refuse collection, and local planning.

Parish and town councils: responsible for specific local services e.g. allotments, park and community centres.

Local council and county council structures:

County Councils: Electoral areas = divisions. Most local councillors represents a party. Party that wins most seats form a cabinet to take responsibility for each area of council’s work.

Local Councils: Electoral areas = wards. Local Government Act 2000 = local authorities must follow one structure:  Either a mayor and cabinet executive; or a leader and cabinet executive or a committee system.

Roles and responsibilities of local and county councils:

Mayors: Either elected mayors by public and responsible for local services. OR traditional civic mayors, elected by


No comments have yet been made