The Life Cycle of a star

HideShow resource information

Stage 1 - Nebula:

  • a collection of dust and gas

Stage 2 - Protostar:

  • gravity pulls the particles together
  • it starts to give out light
  • Nuclear fusion - forces build inside the star until they are great enough to fuse hydrogen atoms together into helium.


Stage 3 - Main Sequence

  • the forces of gravity pulling the particles inwards are balanced by the forces acting outwards due to the energy given to the particles inside the star.
  • Two types of main sequence star - small stars (like sun) yellow dwarf, big…


No comments have yet been made

Similar Physics resources:

See all Physics resources »See all Astronomy resources »