The 5 Pillars: Zakat

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Shannon
  • Created on: 05-05-13 14:16


ZAKAT = compulsory giving of a set proportion of one’s wealth to charity, 2.5% of one’s wealth per year

SADAQAH = to give money voluntarily to charity


  • helping the poor

  • obeying God

  • A person acknowledging that everything comes from God as a loan, people do not really own anything themselves

  • We do not take anything with us when we die, therefore we do not need it

  • We are poor or rich by choice of God, therefore we should help those who are poor

  • learn self-discipline

  • freeing oneself from the love of possessions or money or the love of oneself

  • Honesty

‘Oh you who believe! Give in charity of the good things you earn and of what we (God) have brought forth for you out of the


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »