The 5 Pillars: Sawm

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Shannon
  • Created on: 05-05-13 14:18


SAWM = fasting

  • Muslims are required to fast during the month of Ramadan (9th month of the Islamic calendar)

  • All Muslims must give up things in the hours of daylight

  1. Religious fasting = abstinence from eating, drinking and sex from dawn till sunset

  2. Spiritual fasting = protecting all the senses and thoughts from all that is unlawful

‘Oh you who believe! Fasting is prescribed to you as it was prescribed to those before you, that ye may (learn) self - restraint’ (2.183)

‘Ramadan is the month in which was sent down the Qur’an, as a guide to mankin, also clear (signs) of judgment. So every one of you who is present during that month


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »