The structure of the League of Nations

HideShow resource information


 ·         The Council:

-          Met about 5 times a year.

-          4 permanent members (GB, France, Italy, Japan) who had a veto and 4-9 temporary members.

-          Main role – sort out disputes between members.

-          If it isn’t solved:

1.       Moral Condemnation: tell the aggressor to stop.

2.       Economic sanctions: stop the aggressor from doing trade with others in the League.

3.       Military Force: armies could be used against the aggressor.

·         The Assembly:

-          One representative per country.

-          HQ in Geneva, Switzerland (neutral).


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all The League of Nations resources »