The political British system in 1873:

  • Created by: Merry
  • Created on: 30-01-19 17:48

How the Constitutional Monarchy worked:

The political power was split into three sectors:

  • The House of commons (an elected assembly of individuals through representative voters); they made the decisions based on taxation and laws along with debating about national and local issues. The majority in the discussions decided what passed.
  • The House of lords (made up of unelected heredity are appointed the Monarch when you have enough wealth and influence) had the ability to amend or reject bills proposed by government, although they serve the monarch as a way to counter their influence.
  • The Monarch (Born into the job) was given the power to veto elections, dissolve parliament, lend patronages to their supporters, and most importantly,


No comments have yet been made