The main features of the Buddhist path: the Eightfold Path

  • Created by: gemshort
  • Created on: 30-04-18 19:14

In the Common Vehicle (Theravada Buddhism), the path is described as the Eightfold Path and contains eight different elements, depicted in the eight-spoked wheel which symbolises the Buddhist religion. These elements are not sequential: all work together and reinforce each other

  • Right view refers specifcally to understanding the Four Noble Truths and intuitively grasping their meaning - it is a correct understanding of how things actually are
  • Right attitude includes thoughts such as selfless renunciation, detachment, love and compassion for others, nonviolence and equal-mindedness
  • Right speech is refraining from lying, idle gossip and harsh words
  • Right action refers to honest actions that


No comments have yet been made

Similar Religious Studies resources:

See all Religious Studies resources »See all Buddhism resources »