Territorial changes in Central and Eastern Europe from The Peace Treaties of 1919–1920

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: Lollipop
  • Created on: 30-05-12 17:19


The treaties of 1919–1920 made the defeated countries pay reparations and disarm, and they all lost land.   The treaties also created new nation-states in Eastern Europe.

The Treaty of Versailles gave West Prussia and Upper Silesia to make the new nation-state of Poland, and Danzig was made a ‘free city’.   The Treaty took land which Germany had taken from Russia and created the new nation states Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.  

The Treaty of Saint Germain with Austria in 1919 took land from the Austrian empire to create Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia.   The Treaty of Trianon with Hungary in 1920 took land from Hungary and gave it to the new nation-states of Romania, Czechoslovakia and Yugoslavia.   The Treaty of Neuilly with Bulgaria in 1919 gave Bulgarian land to Greece, Romania and Yugoslavia.

The Treaty of Sèvres with Turkey in 1920 split up the Turkish empire between France and Britain, but as part of the Treaty, most of the small area of Turkey-in-Europe around Constantinople was given to Greece. 

 The Treaty of Versailles  took land


No comments have yet been made

Similar History resources:

See all History resources »See all The interwar years in Europe resources »