Symphony 40 Mozart

HideShow resource information
  • Created by: chloe
  • Created on: 26-04-13 21:22

composed 1788

Features Of The Classical Period (1750-1830)

- Balanced phrases.
- Simple textures.
- Harpsichord replaced with piano.
- Range of wind instruments.

Sonata Form

Mozart's Symphony No.40 is written in Sonata form. Sonata form consists of the three following parts:
- Exposition is where the main themes (usually 2) are initially presented.
- The first theme is always in the home key. (In this case it's G Minor)
- The second subject contrasts to the first and is always in a related key to the first. (In this case it's B ♭ Major, which is the relative major of G minor).
- Development is where the composer 'develops' one or both ideas that were heard in the exposition.
- The section features various keys but avoids using the tonic or the dominant. (In this symphony it moves through various keys but starts in F# minor).
- Music in this section is often ambiguous and is constantly changing and feels restless because of the exploration of different keys. 
- Recapitulation is a 'recap' of the exposition.

- The first subject is in the tonic key (G Minor) as it was in the exposition section and the second subject


No comments have yet been made

Similar Music resources:

See all Music resources »See all Mozart resources »